Preis der Nationalgalerie 2024 honours four artists for the first time: Pan Daijing, Daniel Lie, Hanne Lippard and James Richards. BMW since 2006 long-term partner of Germany’s most prestigious contemporary art award.


Munich/Berlin. Pan Daijing, Daniel Lie, Hanne Lippard
and James Richards are awarded the Preis der Nationalgalerie, which,
in 2024, is going to four artists for the first time. The new format
of the prize takes up the idea of the exhibition as a collective
exchange and aims to expand the collection through the purchase of
four new pieces. The prize winners will produce four new works to be
shown in a joint exhibition at the Hamburger Bahnhof from April to
September 2024. Since 2006 the BMW Group Cultural Engagement has
supported the Preis der Nationalgalerie as an exclusive partner.

The jury for the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2024 is composed of four
international directors of collecting institutions: Cecilia
(Director and Chief Curator of High Line Art, New
York), Elvira Dyangani Ose (Director of MACBA,
Barcelona), Kasia Redzisz (Artistic Director of KANAL
– Centre Pompidou, Brussels) and Jochen Volz
(Director General of the Pinacoteca do Estado, São Paulo) as well as
Sam Bardaouil, Till Fellrath
(Directors of the Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin) and Gabriele
(Acting Director and Head of the Collection,
Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin). The jury made their selection on the
following basis:

Pan Daijing works with sound, performance,
installation, choreography, and film. Her practice is situated at the
intersection of visual art and music. Influenced by improvisation and
narrative elements, her works often have a performative starting
point, though they move far beyond this in terms of their impact. They
evince the artist’s intensely psychological sense of space.

Daniel Lie’s art explores questions about ecology and
non-human life forms. Lie’s multi-sensory, evocative sculptural
installations create atmospheres that are found nowhere else. The
ephemeral materials used in the works of the trans/non-binary artist
progressively alter the space, time and dynamics of any exhibition.

Hanne Lippard uses her voice as her primary artistic
medium. Her sound sculptures surround visitors, creating minimalist
but immersive encounters. However, the calm impression her work gives
does not belie the underlying voice that resolutely addresses
political concerns.

Filmmaker James Richards combines experimental
techniques with a sense of spatial arrangement. He negotiates
questions of history and memory, of archives and conservation. His
detailed works reveal a choreographic understanding of space, and of
how people move through it.

Sam Bardaouil und Till Fellrath,
Directors of the Hamburger Bahnhof – Nationalgalerie der Gegenwart
state, “With this new format, the Hamburger Bahnhof is setting an
example for collective thinking in art. The museum thus shows
different artistic positions as equal and in direct dialogue with one
another by awarding them a joint prize. At the same time, the Preis
der Nationalgalerie will tie in closely in the Hamburger Bahnhof
collection, thus preserving the respective snapshots of the art scene
for the future.”

“As a long-standing partner of the Preis der Nationalgalerie, we are
proud to congratulate four awardees for the first time. It is an
honour for us to support this internationally renowned award and to
recognize young positions in contemporary art. Together, we look
forward to seeing the works in the prize-winners exhibition next year
at Hamburger Bahnhof. Once again, the outstanding selection of artists
shows how essential intercultural exchange is for an open,
future-oriented society,” says Dr. Nicolas Peter,
Member of the Board of BMW AG, Finance.

The jury chose from 70 nominees proposed by twelve experts for the
Preis der Nationalgalerie 2024: Sarah Alberti
(journalist, editor and art historian, Leipzig); Carina
(Curator of Portikus, Frankfurt); Övül Ö.
(Professor at the Hochschule für Bildende Kunst,
Braunschweig); Ines Goldbach (Director of the
Kunsthalle Baselland, Muttenz); Anna Gritz (Director
of the Haus am Waldsee, Berlin); Johan Holten
(Director of the Kunsthalle Mannheim); Kornelia Röder
(Head of Department at the Staatliches Museum Schwerin); Alya
(Director of the ifa-Galerie, Berlin); Nina
(Director of TAXISPALAIS Kunsthalle Tirol,
Innsbruck); Anne Vieth (Curator of the Kunstmuseum
Stuttgart); Silke Wagler (Head of the Kunstfonds,
Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden); Moritz Wesseler
(Director of the Fridericianum, Kassel). The curators of the Hamburger
Bahnhof and the members of the Freunde der Nationalgalerie were also
entitled to submit proposals.

The Preis der Nationalgalerie will be awarded for
the twelfth time in 2024. Since 2000, the prize has been promoting
recent, important positions in contemporary art that reflect the
internationality and vitality of the art world in Germany and which
have achieved eminence through the novelty of their approach. The
Preis der Nationalgalerie is made possible by the Freunde der
Nationalgalerie, and since 2006, the BMW Group Cultural Engagement has
supported the Prize as an exclusive partner. Artists who currently
live and work in Germany and are no older than 40 years at the time of
their nomination are eligible for the Preis der Nationalgalerie. In
the previous editions, one artist from a shortlist exhibition was
awarded the prize and subsequently given the opportunity to present a
solo exhibition. Starting now, all four nominees will be presented in
a group exhibition at the Hamburger Bahnhof, each showing a new work
that is planned to be acquired for the collection of the
Nationalgalerie. The prize aims to celebrate the diversity of artistic
approaches and media that is characteristically found in contemporary
art in particular. A contemporary form of collecting is exemplified
here: in the creation of new works for the collection from out of a
dialogue between artists and the institution.

The Preis der Nationalgalerie was last awarded in 2021, but the
exhibition was not shown until 2022 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Beginning in 2024, the prize will again be awarded every two years and
the winners will be announced the previous year. A catalogue will be
published to accompany the exhibition.

For further information and image material, please
visit the press section of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here